Skip to content

Faith Filled Friday: Jesus Christ vs Christ Jesus

August 5, 2023

by Connie Terpack August 4, 2023

Recently I read a comment on Facebook that said that the name Christ was used only once in the Bible. I knew that could not be true since I have read the Bible a half dozen times and remember seeing it more often than that. Since I was curious about whether or not there was a difference between using Christ as a first or last name, this article is limited to those two.

Jesus was called by a variety of names and titles throughout the Bible. In John 6:35 Jesus referred to himself as the Bread of Life: And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst. Then in John 8:12 Jesus says he is the Light of the World: Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life. My last example is in John 10:11-12 where Jesus says he is the Good Shepherd: The thief cometh not, but for to steal and to kill, and to destroy; I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly. I am the good shepherd: the good shepherd giveth his life for the sheep.

Even in the Old Testament Jesus is talked about as the Wonderful Counselor in Isaiah 9:6: For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counselor, The mighty God, the everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.

Matthew chapter 1 starts with the lineage of Jesus Christ. Verse 18 begins the story of Jesus’ birth. In verse 21 an angel is talking to Joseph and tells him, “And she shall bring forth a son, and thou shalt call his name JESUS for he shall save his people from their sins.”

My KJV Bible index lists 35 verses with Christ, 7 with Christ Jesus, and 44 for simply Jesus. I’m sharing only a few verses with you.

Matthew 2:4 And when he had gathered all the chief priests and scribes of the people together, he demanded of them where Christ should be born.

Luke 2:11 – An angel tells the shepherds on the field: For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, which is Christ the Lord.

Philippians 1:21 For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.

1 Timothy 1:15 This is a faithful saying, and worthy of all acceptation, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am chief.

Hebrews 13:8 Jesus Christ the same yesterday and today and forever.

Revelations 22:20-21 He which testifieth these things saith, Surely I come quickly. Amen. Even so, come, Lord Jesus. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you all. Amen.

From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.