Skip to content

Faith Filled Friday: What’s In It For Me?

September 9, 2017

by Connie Terpack  Sept. 6, 2017

Malachi is the last book of the Old Testament. I’ve read it several times over the years but this verse popped out when I read it today.
Ye have said, It is vain to serve God: and what profit is it that we have kept his ordinance, and that we have walked mournfully before the Lord of hosts? (Malachi 3:14)
At the bottom of the page, my Bible offers the explanation that some people wrongly maintained that if material prosperity did not result, there was no point in serving the Lord.
I’ve done that, as I’m sure a lot of others have. “Lord, I’ll give more if you give me more.” Bad thing is I don’t always hold up my end of the bargain. Oh sure, I’ll give a bit more but not as much as I should have.
I’ve had people tell me that they did not want Christ in their lives because they didn’t want to give up what they had. The rich man (Luke 18:18-23) did not want to give up his wealth and left in sorrow.
So then what is in it for us to love and serve God?
Assured a home in heaven: There’s no other place I’d rather be, that’s for certain. Heaven is bright, happy, peaceful, full of music and joy. There will be oodles of people to talk to. It’s hard to imagine heaven from this earthly vantage point. I think they’ll be animals there, but not everyone does. One guy told me he couldn’t stand praising God all day. I don’t consider that will be a hardship at all. With the new heart, mind and body we get in heaven, the way we think down here is totally different.
Someone to talk to: When I was little I spent a lot of time talking to Jesus. He helped me through a ton of problems. At twelve I accepted Christ as my Savior. Has my life been perfect? Nope. But I’m so thankful Jesus is in my heart. There are plenty of times I talk to God just to chat, give Him thanks, or even sing a few hymns. He likes to talk to us because he used to visit Adam in the cool of the day to talk to him. (Genesis 3:8)
He provides peace and comfort: There is a great sense of comfort and calmness when I’m in God’s presence. There have been times I’ve woke up in the middle of night from a nightmare. I can’t call any of my friends at three AM, but I can talk to Jesus for comfort. I pray for family, friends, governments, strangers, missionaries, former patients, and so much more.
He’s there to help in times of need or distress: It is so nice to talk to God whenever I have a problem. He’s available to talk to or provide help at any time of the day or night. He’s been good about answering my prayers. Sometimes it’s with feelings of peace, comfort, or love. Other times I got an answer quickly, but a few times the answers were years in coming.
I don’t want to go to Hell: The Bible describes hell as fiery hot, dark, full of moaning and with crawly things all over the body. Some people I’ve talked to expect to be nothing more than sweaty, thirsty and bored. That alone would be an awful way to spend eternity. Many have told me all their friends will be there, so they might as well be too. Problem with that is you don’t get to spend time chatting with your friends; there’s no shared misery. It’s so dark that you will hear lots of moaning, including your own, but you can’t see anyone else or talk to them. Being alone would be unbearable for me, adding all the rest would be absolutely awful.
Those of you who don’t have Jesus Christ in your heart, don’t know what you’re missing. I’m looking forward to talking to God, Jesus, and every one else when I get to heaven.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

