Skip to content

Faith Filled Friday: Psalm 23 and 47

August 4, 2017

Normally, I put little faith in dreams. Yes, I know God talked to a lot of people in their dreams in the Bible, but I still believe most dreams are a rehash of a problem that your brain is working on solving. I had planned to get my hair cut on Friday (today in real time). That way with enough hair spray and styling gel it would look nice for Sunday church.
So when I had a crazy dream Wednesday night about my hair being like straw and sticking out all over my head in utter chaos, it was not surprising. However, I did change my plans. Instead of waiting until Friday, Thursday morning I had my devotions, ate breakfast my son made, took my meds, showered and washed my hair then headed to the hairdresser. No appointment necessary.
I had a couple choices for today’s blog, but last night I had another crazy dream. The only thing I remembered on awakening was that it had two chapters from the book of Psalm–23 and 47. While most of us know Psalm 23 by heart, I had no clue about 47.
I decided to post both of them. Verse 2 in chapter 47 uses the word “terrible”; I bracketed the explanation my Bible (KJV) gave for its meaning. Also, I modernized a few words in Psalm 23, but they lose something without the “-eth” ending.
Psalm 23
The Lord is my Shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside still waters.
He restores my soul: He leads me the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for Thou are with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.
Thou prepares a table before me in the presence of my enemies: thou anoints my head with oil; my cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.
Psalm 47
O, clap your hands, all ye people; shout unto God with the voice of triumph.
For the Lord most high is terrible [to be feared or revered]; he is a great king over all the earth.
He shall subdue the people under us, and the nations under our feet.
He shall choose our inheritance for us, the excellency of Jacob whom he loved. Selah.
God is gone up with a shout, the Lord with the sound of a trumpet.
Sing praises to God, sing praises: sing praises unto our King, sing praises.
For God is the King of all the earth: sing ye praises with understanding.
God reigns over the heathen: God sits upon the throne of his holiness.
The princes of the people are gathered together, even the people of the God of Abraham: for the shields of the earth belong unto God: he is greatly exalted.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

