Skip to content

Faith Filled Friday: Be Positive

February 4, 2017

It shall be done for you as you have believed. Matthew 8:13
Being positive should be easy for a Christian. After all, you have God in your heart and an eternity in heaven to look forward to. I was one of those negative Christians. My mother always looked on the worst side of everything. Being negative came naturally to me.
When I was twelve years old I accepted Jesus Christ as my Savior. I was at youth camp when I made my profession of faith and couldn’t wait to get home to tell mother. I knew she’d be happy. She was always telling us we needed to have Christ in our hearts.
I shared my good news. She said, “You’re lying” and walked away. I was heartbroken. I don’t have to tell you that, do I? I quit sharing things with her after that. It was easy to keep seeing the negative side of life. Surprisingly, my love for Jesus remained unchanged, but my outlook remained negative.
Around my early 30s, my husband and I signed up as Amway Distributors. We attended a lot of meetings. They taught you how to think positive! Wow! My church never taught anything like that.
I won’t say it was easy switching sides, but I feel better when thinking positive. Our new positive-thinking friends were a huge help. Our business grew, but my Christian life didn’t grow as much as it should have. Whether it was the devil or all the other negative people I was around I don’t know, but my negative side persisted.
The bolded paragraphs are excerpted from Battlefield of the Mind by Joyce Meyer. I’ve just finished Chapter 5 and have been thoroughly delighted with her wisdom. So, I’m looking forward to reading the rest her book.
Positive minds produce positive lives. Negative minds produce negative lives. Positive thought are always full of faith and hope. Negative thoughts are always full of fear and doubt.
Some people are afraid to hope because thy have been hurt so much in life. They have had so many disappointments, they don’t think they can face the pain of another one. Therefore, they refuse to hope so they won’t be disappointed.
This avoidance of hope is a type of protection against being hurt. Disappointment hurts! So rather than be hurt again, many people simply refuse to hope or believe that anything good will ever happen to them. This type of behavior sets up a negative lifestyle. Everything becomes negative because the thoughts are negative. Remember Proverbs 23:7: For as he thinks in his heart, so is he.
The point Joyce Meyer made was that we may not know what God’s plan is for us in every instance. We need to remind ourselves that God loves us, and whatever He does will be good and we’ll be blessed.
Think positive. God will bring good out of the situation even if we can’t see anything good at that moment. Like with all the crazy stuff that happened in my life this week, I don’t see anything good in any of that, but I trust the Lord. That’s all I need to do for now.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

