Skip to content

The joys of coining words for your story

October 19, 2016

I’m also creating a few words for my fantasy story. I like his word ‘sylluth’ and will have to ask him if I can borrow it for my story. It seems to me there should already be a name for that kind of tree. ~ Connie

Matthew Wright

I’m sure that a lot of the stories being set up for National November Writing Month will be fantasy/sci fi. It’s a great genre – I write in it myself.

Fantasy and sci-fi adds all sorts of fun ‘extras’ to the writing challenge – like making the setting ‘different but not too different’. One of the best ways to create a sense of ‘difference’ in fantasy world building is to coin words for it.

Part of the Westlands of Agorathor. Part of the Westlands of Agorathor.

The master, of course, was Tolkien. He coined whole languages – several of them – along with part-lexicons for other languages that gave a staggering depth to his world. For the rest of us, it’s still handy to create a few words to give that sense of exotic to the setting. The trick is to be judicious – too many and the reader will get confused.

There’s also the issue…

View original post 256 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

