Skip to content

Faith Filled Friday: He Adds the Chime

September 30, 2016

Recently, my son Vaughn, a blacksmith, started making metal bowls. They’re beautiful pieces and have multiple uses, from holding a candle to keeping loose change safe.
The first one he made he brought in and set beside his computer. We share the dining room for our computer work. Vaughn has a desk in the corner and my portable is on the dining room table. We can work for hours in companionable silence.
That all changed with that first bowl. He happened to have a thin metal stick that he tapped against the side of the bowl. It made a tinny bell sound. He did it again, and again, and again, and again. After awhile, it became annoying. A tinny ding makes concentrating on writing difficult!
Naturally, I had to ask if he was deliberately trying to annoy me. He laughed, but also stopped. Unfortunately, not for long. I got used to hearing that ding and it was less annoying.
Several days later he brought in another bowl, just a little bit larger than the first. It had a pleasing deeper tone that was nice to listen to. Vaughn probably dinged that one as much as he did the first one. Naturally, you can’t make one chime without ringing the other one!
What I didn’t know was that he was listening to the tone and comparing them.
I told Vaughn I liked the chime on the larger one. He told me, “The size doesn’t make the sound. I put the chime in.” He explained how all those little circles he made hammering on the inside of the bowl created the tone of the chime.
Isn’t that how it is in our Christian walk with God? We have to take a lot of ‘dings’ throughout life. Instead of getting upset or mad at God, we should be thankful. He is perfecting us to develop a beautiful ring tone.
God adds the ‘chime’ to our lives.

My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations. James 1:2

For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure. Do all things without murmurings and disputings; that ye may be blameless and harmless, the sons of God, without rebuke, in the midst of a crooked and perverse nation, among whom ye shine as lights in the world. Philippians 2: 13-15

Great is my boldness of speech toward you, great is my glorying of you: I am filled with comfort, I am exceeding joyful in all tribulation. 2 Corinthians 7:4

In every thing give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you. 1 Thessalonians 5:18

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

