Skip to content

I miss my desk

August 8, 2016

Patricia Johns

This is the current state of my writing space. I have an 8-year-old son who, like most 8-year-olds, loves Lego. And this picture doesn’t even show all of the Lego, which spreads a ways left.

IMG_3261

The Lego playing starts at approximately 6 am when he gets up, and it’s picked up once during the day for precisely 7 minutes while I vacuum… after which, it gets dumped again. Because how else is he supposed to find his pieces? (It’s a persuasive argument.) Once I’ve vacuumed and the Lego gets dumped again, I have no more fight left so the Lego stays there until the next daily vacuum.

Apparently, the best Lego playing surface is right next to my desk, and after a few days of stepping on errant Lego pieces, I gave up and retreated to the bedroom. So that’s where the writing has been happening this summer… in fact, that’s…

View original post 29 more words

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Thanks for the reblog! 🙂

  2. Excuse the comparison, but your child is like a dog — he just wants to be near mom. Instead of being frustrated you should be tickled pink that he loves you so much!

  3. You got that right!

Leave a Reply

