Skip to content

Mass Shootings as Social Virus

July 11, 2016

It was truly interesting to read about this mess from a sociologist’s point of view. I agree with Jarrett. Gun control does not fix the problem. The I and me are too pervasive. I believe that the best solution is to put God back into our lives and hearts. ~ Connie

My Brain Injourney

I’m going to break from my usual ballyhoo and dust off my, what C. Wright Mills called, “sociological imagination”. Mills himself defined the sociological imagination as “the vivid awareness of the relationship between experience and the wider society” and the ability to “think yourself away from the familiar routines of everyday life”* . For purposes of this post, I will steal a line from popularsocialscience.com – “The sociological imagination enables people to distinguish between personal troubles and public issues.”**

I’ve two degrees in sociology, which basically means that I can speak more eloquently about social issues than most. Notice I didn’t say I had better insight or more knowledge about social issues. I am just armed with bigger, fancier words like “milieu” (or milieux if you’re talking about more than one) and “panacea”. I’ll use these words to introduce my topic by saying “What follows is not meant as a…

View original post 506 more words

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Personally I think it’s simple – ignorant people wanting their 15 minutes of being infamous. Some actually believing that people will listen to their rantings because they’re shooting off a gun.

  2. Thanks for the reblog! Glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

