Skip to content

Faith Filled Friday: GOD’S LOVE

July 8, 2016

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.
John 3:16

We talk about love all the time. There are hundreds of books on the subject. There are many things that we can love. Job, family, friends, cars, money, travel, pets, even the weather can be loved. Some equate sex with love or vice versa.
When God created the world He spoke it into existence. When he created Adam and Eve He used His own hands. How awesome is that! I believe that left an indelible mark on us. We need God in our lives, but many are willing to throw Him away. They don’t want to be bothered. They want to run their lives their way.
Having God in your heart does not take away your free will. God still lets us do what we want. There have been times I wished God would have yelled loudly at me to get my attention and stop me: “NO, you can’t do that!”
It’s scary to be held accountable. Just like the rest of us, I’m afraid to face God at judgement time. His Naughty & Nice list is not going to match with mine, probably won’t be close at all. All my old sins were washed away when I asked Jesus in my heart at the young age of twelve. I’ve had over fifty years to add on a lot more!
There are plenty of people who go to church, but don’t have Christ in their heart. There are also plenty of churches that don’t teach about salvation and the need to have God reign in your heart. Some preach that you only need to give money, your time, or that because God loves us we all get to go to heaven.
That mark is like a niche which God fits into. If you refuse to allow God in your heart, then that niche remains empty and you’re always looking for a way to fill the gap. People try to fill it with money, power, prestige, sex, drugs, fame or whatever. Nothing will satisfy that emptiness except God.
I honestly love having God in my heart. He has been a huge help and solace over the years. I would not know how to do things any other way. He’s someone to talk to when no one else wants to listen. He’s kept me safe many times. I’m looking forward to seeing Him when I get to heaven. Yet, as much as I’m looking forward to going there, I’m in no real hurry.  ~ Connie

Commit they way unto the Lord; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.
Psalm 37:5
Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him and he shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5-6

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

