Skip to content

Wither the Wind

July 4, 2016

Life Unscripted

We have been enjoying our awning.  I know that seems an odd statement, but we haven’t always been able to do that while RV’ing.  And it brought up the question where in the U.S. are the winds more pronounced?

Enter Google to the rescue.

WindspeedRsz Enter a caption

What can’t you find on the InterWebs?  It wasn’t long before I had a very interesting map of the U.S. showing mean windspeed averages in the U.S.

I have to tell you that I have serious doubts about the accuracy of this map — I have never driven West when I didn’t have horrendous winds out of the West impeding my progress and sapping my fuel mileage, but this is what the chart purports to say. Note this is a January map.

sig995_meanwwnd_05A little more searching and I found a May map. It’s not much different in the areas that concern me, but…

View original post 183 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

