Skip to content

FAITH FILLED FRIDAY: Being an Example

July 1, 2016

Bible study this morning was on God’s love which tied in with being a witness for Him. Most religions focus on love, but surprisingly, there are a few that don’t.
Any person who claims to have Christ in their heart should be an example of His love, but we all aren’t. Even after accepting Christ as our Savior we do not become perfect. I wish. It would make life so much easier.
Love can be shown in many different ways. You can volunteer with helping others. You can share your time with friends by sitting with them in the hospital, calling regularly to see how they’re doing, and even simply praying often for them. You can give donations to various organizations and churches.
Satan tempts us constantly and he often succeeds. We focus on our problems, troubles, job, and money. Those worries take our time and minds from God, but most of us don’t think of it that way. If I’d spent as much time in prayer as I did complaining, I bet my life would be totally different.
Sandy, my sister who passed away last year, claimed to have Jesus in her heart. I caught her in a few lies which made me wonder how many I didn’t know about. I talked with her about salvation in the last few months before her death. She assured me the she had Jesus in her heart. The Lord is the only one who knows for certain, but I do hope she made it into heaven.
Many years ago, I worked with a nurse who lied about everything. It was hard working with her. I finally left because I was afraid of losing my license over one of her lies. She also claimed to be a Christian. My anger at her lasted for several years and didn’t bother her in the least since she knew nothing about it. However, it did inhibit my Christian walk. God can’t forgive me if I don’t forgive others. (Matthew 6:12, 14-15; Mark 11:25; Luke 6:37; Ephesians 4:32) Forgiving her was the hardest thing I ever had to do. There no reason it should have been. I guess I was letting Satan reign about it.
All through life we’re going to meet people who claim to be a Christian, but don’t act like one. I’m sure if you asked fifty people what it meant to be a ‘Christian,’ you would get fifty different answers. For me, a Christian is someone who has asked Christ for forgiveness of their sins and has Him in their heart. Salvation is the only ticket into heaven.
With my current memory issues I get things confused or forget simple things. I mentioned to a friend that I did something on Tuesday. A few hours later I realized I did that on Monday, not Tuesday. I lied, didn’t I? Should I call her and correct my mistake? Did it matter? Was I remembering wrong? Needless to say, I didn’t call her. I highly doubted that whatever day of the week it was would have made any difference. I asked God for forgiveness, but I think this was one of those times when He chuckled over my dilemma. God doesn’t expect us to be perfect, but I’m sure He does expect us to make an effort to obey the Ten Commandments.
Maybe that’s another scheme of the devil’s. He whispers in our ear, ‘Don’t worry about. It’s no big deal. It’s not that important.’
The big question is should you let a person who is a bad example stop you from accepting Jesus as your Savior and going to heaven?

~ Connie

8 Comments
  1. We all have imperfections and love the Lord despite them. It takes Him some time to deal with all these areas ipn our lives and some are incredibly hard to conquer. In some ethnicities, lying is acceptable practice to save face, so it all gets dreadfully muddled.

    Just don’t write anyone off because of an imperfection, regardless of how glaring it is. It’s the sinners that need God. The perfect (who don’t exist), need not apply.

    Keep powering onwards!

    • Thank you. I’m saving your comment for one of my characters to use. Don’t have anyone in mind at present, but it will probably be in “A Pinch of Sweetness, A Slice of Murder.” I haven’t written too much of that book yet. It’s mostly a few ideas and rough plot. I plan to work on that on after I finish “A Sign for Love.”

  2. BTW, I, like you, am appalled by lying and hate it. This is not an excuse, just a compassionate viewpoint said to encourage you.

  3. You hit a hot button here.

    For one thing I don’t think people are as conscious about recognizing role models as they once were — seems today people are far more willing to pick and choose characteristics they like — but then they have them out of context and don’t realize that character is the result of living, not the result of imitation. By losing the practice of mentoring — what young person today wants to learn from old people? — society is losing continuity.

    But the bigger issue is that there comes a time in all of our lives when we should be seeing that we have learned from others in the past but now we are at a point where other people are noticing OUR actions and it’s time to step up to the plate and up our own game — to be an example to them.

Leave a Reply

