Skip to content

Inappropriate seasonal thoughts

June 20, 2016

Hallmark channel is showing Christmas movies in July. It’s rather nice to think of Christ’s birth twice a year. Besides my birthday is in July and I have a rather long book wish list.

Patricia Johns

I’ve been thinking Christmas thoughts… I know, I know, summer has barely begun, but I’ve caught myself humming Christmas carols already. I’m obnoxiously rubbing off on Mr. Johns, too, who has also started humming Christmas carols. They’re like yawns–one person starts and there is no stopping the chain reaction.

I remember being about ten (and apparently very bored one summer) because I decided to put together a puppet concert entitled “Christmas in July.” So it looks like this is not a new development in my character–it goes way back! 😉

So the other day while I was standing barefoot in my kitchen slicing watermelon and humming “It Came Upon a Midnight Clear,” I realized that I have good reason to look forward to Christmas this year. I’ve got a Christmas book coming out!

If you enjoyed HER STUBBORN COWBOY, then you’ll love THE COWBOY’S CHRISTMAS BRIDE coming out November 2016…

View original post 56 more words

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. As it’s winter in July, here in Australia, a number of places do a Christmas in July special lunch. I’m so used to a hot, summer Christmas, I’ve never gone to one; but people love the novelty and expats from colder climates enjoy it.

    • I didn’t think about the difference in seasons on the other side of the world. Living in Pittsburgh, I was used to cold and snow for Christmas. We moved south 25 years ago, to Georgia first. We were there only 5 years, but had a few days of snow most every winter, so it wasn’t much of a culture shock. I think I can count on one hand the number of times we’ve had snow in S Carolina. Frankly, I don’t miss it anymore. With this blessed Myasthenia Gravis I know I would be miserable in hot Australia. Heat exacerbates this disease. I don’t know what the Lord was thinking!

      • You really need to be somewhere in the middle, don’t you? I honestly can’t think of anywhere which is really neutral. 😦

  2. Thanks for the reblog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

