Skip to content

Faith Filled Friday: God is like Spinach

May 7, 2016

Today was rather busy for me and again I forgot to do my Friday post. My apologies. The ladies Bible study ran over and we didn’t finish until almost 1:00pm. I could have done the post earlier this afternoon if I’d remembered. I helped out with the Sertoma Club at Relay for Life from 5-9pm. We had a great time, but I overdid it and arrived home exhausted. I just remembered to do my post. This was on Christian Broadcast Network on Facebook from the Courageous Christian Father, Steve Patterson  August 3, 2015  ~ Connie

I saw a graphic on Facebook the other day on with Popeye on it. He wasn’t holding Spinach. But I always remembered he ate spinach from watching Popeye as a child. Seeing that graphic got my mind working an analogy with it. Some of you younger people may not get it or know about it, but my generation and older should get it.

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.
In the cartoon Popeye, when he wanted strength he simply opened a can of Spinach and instantly was strong.
You know we can get the same strength! We get our strength from God the Bible tells us. See Philippians 4:13. “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me .”
You know all we must do is go to God. We must go to Him in a total trust, a total dependence on Him and Him alone. He will give us the strength that we need to go through that battle. He will not leave us either.
Popeye had a great trust and faith in the spinach. When he was in trouble, he knew all he had to do was eat a can of spinach. The same applies to us. We must know we can go to God for strength.
We have total access to Him. We can open our Bible and read His Word. You can say opening your Bible is much like Popeye opening a can of spinach. Reading His Word and talking to God you can say is like eating or consuming the Spinach.
Both Matthew 4:4 and Luke 4:4 tells us that Jesus said man cannot live on eating bread alone. He was telling us we must also feed on the Word of God.
The Bible is part of the Armor of God. It is sharper than any double edge sword. It is powerful too.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

