Skip to content

Faith Filled Friday: Is God a Wuss?

April 29, 2016

This thought came to mind this morning, so I decided to write it as a conversation. I hope you enjoy it and understand that I mean no disrespect to my Father in heaven. Please, bear with me on the absurdity of my story. ~ Connie

Many years ago my sister-in-law Vickie made a comment that has stuck with me all this time. She said, “I won’t believe in God until he makes a rock too heavy for him to pick up.”
Ignoring the contradiction, why limit God? There is a huge flaw is the statement; mainly a lack of logic. How could an all-powerful being create a rock too heavy for him to pick up?
I picture a rock about the size of a softball. It’s small enough to fit in your hand, but it’s super dense and weighs two trillion tons. The rock is slowly sinking into the earth. Scientists claim when it reaches the earth’s core, the earth will explode.
Those very same people who denounced the existence of God, now argue with Him. They appointed Tim, a scientist, to discuss the matter with God. He was the only one on their team that went to church several times a year.
Tim starts with, “You created this mess and need to fix it.”
“Why do you say I created it?” God questioned.
“Well, didn’t you?”
“Yes, I created everything. You’ve never believed that before.”
“So, maybe we were wrong.” Tim felt so alone, and didn’t like being out on this limb. His church attendance was spotty, mainly for major holidays and weddings. He believed in God, but sometimes his friends were so convincing about evolution and the Big Bang that he occasionally had doubts.
“I can’t help; it’s too heavy for me.”
“How can that be? You hung the stars in place.”
“Yes?” God questioned, encouraging the scientist to continue.
“So, weren’t some of those heavier than this rock?”
“Some were. Much larger, too. What’s your point?”
“If those were heavier, why can’t you pick up this rock?”
“Because you don’t want me to.”
“I’ve never said that!” Tim looked over to his team members. Greg looked at him questioningly but said nothing. “Greg, tell God it was you.”
Greg shrugged his shoulders. “I don’t know what you’re talking about. You act like you’re talking to someone, but we don’t see or hear anyone else.”
Tim looked back to God. “Is that true?”
“Yes.”
“Great. Listen, we want, no need is a better word–I need you to get rid of this rock. We all do.”
God answered simply, “I’ve heard you repeatedly say that I’m not powerful enough unless I can make a rock I can’t pick up.”
The scientist looked down at his shoes, humbled, “I’m not the only one who’s ever said that. Besides, I didn’t mean that we should all be destroyed.”
“Why me? Why not one of the other gods you worship?”
“I only worship you…when I do.” He faced God again. “From what my friends and family have told me none of their gods are talking.”
“Hmph. Those theories about Evolution and the Big Bang are not working out so well now?”
“No.” Tim’s voice was barely above a whisper.
“Maybe you should read Genesis chapters one and two. My word tells you that I spoke the world into creation. (Genesis 1:3)
“I will. I promise.”
“I’ll hold you to that promise. I’ve wiped away the coffee stain that covered Psalm 24 to remind you of today and your promise. I hope you’ll read that chapter as well.”
Nodding excessively, Tim ran his words together. “I will. As soon as we get done, I’ll find a Bible.”
“You believe mankind is mighty and smart. Most of your team insists they didn’t need Me. Why haven’t you fixed the problem?”
“We’ve tried everything and the rock is still sinking. We need your help.”
“Do you remember what you said yesterday when you all were discussing asking me for help? You insisted that I wasn’t much of a god if I couldn’t move this little rock. You don’t believe in me.”
“No, that’s not true.”
“Have you considered my feelings? You’ve tried for a full week to find something to destroy the orb. Do you think I like being your last resort?”
“It doesn’t sound good when you put it that way.”
“You do realize I can easily move that rock. Define my ‘can’t’ as simply an unwillingness to do so. You can’t have it both ways. You can either believe that I am all powerful or I’m a wuss.
Tim’s jaw dropped open in awe as God’s image grew taller and brighter. He heard gasps from his fellow teammates and realized they could see this, too.
“I AM GOD!” The voice of thunder roared. Tim and all the rest of the team dropped to their knees.
God’s image and the orb disappeared in the blink of an eye.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

