Skip to content

Patriotic Songs for the Holiday

May 25, 2015

AMERICA
(My country ‘tis of thee)

My country, ‘tis of thee, sweet land of liberty, of thee I sing;
Land where my fathers died, Land of the the pilgrim’s pride,
From ev’ry mountain side let freedom ring!

My native country, thee, Land of the noble, free, thy name I love;
I love thy rocks and rills, they woods and templed hills;
My heart with rapture thrills like that above.

Let music swell the breeze, and ring from all the trees sweet freedom’s song;  Let mortal tongues awake; Let all that breathe partake;
Let rocks their silence break, the sound prolong.

Out fathers’ God, to Thee, Author of liberty, to Thee we sing;
Long may our land be bright with freedom’s holy light;
Protect us by Thy might, Great God, our King!

AMERICA
WAYLON JENNINGS

Some have said down thru history, if you last it’s a mystery,
but I guess they just don’t know what they’re talking about.
From the mountains down to the sea you’ve become such a habit with me.
America,  America,
Well, I come from down round Tennessee,
but the people in California are nice to me.
America.
It don’t matter where I may roam
tell you people that it’s home sweet home.
America,   America,
And my brothers, are all black and white, yellow too,
and the red man is right to expect too little from you,
promise and then follow through
America
All the men who fell on the plains
and who lived through hardship and pain
America,   America,
And the men who could not fight
in the war that didn’t seem right
You let them come home.
America
(interlude)
And my brothers, are all black and white, yellow, too,
and the red man is right to expect too little from you,
promise and then follow through.
America
Well, I come from down ‘round Tennessee,
but the people in California are nice to me,  America.
And no matter where I may roam
Tell you people that it’s home sweet home.  America,   America,
America,   America,
It’s home sweet home, America,
America,   America

From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.